Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos 1 & 2

Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos 1 & 2
Abravanel Hall
123 W S Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA Get Directions



Thierry Fischer demonstrates that the chronological bookends of symphonic music have much to offer. In a season-long exploration, he introduces the full set of Bach’s celebrated Baroque Brandenburg Concertos, paired with a 20th-century miniature by the French iconoclast, Pierre Boulez. By contrast, the full forces of the Utah Symphony are unleased in Aaron Copland’s majestic Symphony No. 3, written to celebrate the end of World War II. It carries an overall tone of heroism and dignity, culminating in the triumphant theme from Fanfare for the Common Man.

November 16 & 17, 2018 / 7:30 PM / Abravanel Hall | Directions

Finishing Touches Open Rehearsal

Get a behind-the-scenes look at the Utah Symphony during our Finishing Touches Open Rehearsal. Selections for the rehearsal will be chosen from repertoire for this week’s concerts at the discretion of the conductor. Complimentary baked goods and coffee are available in the lobby prior to the rehearsal. Seating for open rehearsals is General Admission on the orchestra level of Abravanel Hall.

This performance is currently available to purchase as part of a season ticket package. Individual tickets go on sale June 19, 2018 at 10 AM.

This is part of the Masterworks Series | SUBSCRIBE


  • Thierry Fischer, conductor


  • J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 1
  • Boulez: Dérive 1
  • J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2
  • Copland: Symphony No. 3


GENERAL AGE GUIDELINE: Individuals ages five and older are welcome at this performance. Parents should ensure their children are able to sit quietly through the performance without disturbing others around them. No babes in arms will be admitted.