Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 2

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 2
Abravanel Hall
123 W South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA Get Directions

Recommended For You

  • Dvorák’s Violin Concerto
    Masterworks Series

    Dvorák’s Violin Concerto

    • Friday, March 29, 2024 | 07:30 PM | Abravanel Hall
    • Saturday, March 30, 2024 | 07:30 PM | Abravanel Hall

    Please select a date

  • Anne Akiko Meyers Plays “Fandango”
    Masterworks Series

    Anne Akiko Meyers Plays “Fandango”

    • Friday, May 24, 2024 | 07:30 PM | Abravanel Hall
    • Saturday, May 25, 2024 | 07:30 PM | Abravanel Hall

    Please select a date


Performing the suite from the grandest opera by Rimsky-Korsakov, The Invisible City of Kitezh, is a first for the Utah Symphony. This program includes another first, Émergences-Résurgences by Swiss composer Michael Jarrell—a work inspired by Impressionist art and composed for the world’s most renowned violist, Tabea Zimmermann, who gives its U.S. premiere. Zimmermann also performs Weber’s Andante & Hungarian Rondo, an exciting return for a piece that Weber wrote for his brother. The program culminates with Tchaikovsky’s Second Symphony, distinctive for its use of Ukrainian folk tunes.


CONCERT DURATION: Approximately 1 hour and 47 minutes. 

LATE SEATING: Late seating will take place after Rimsky-Korsakov’s Suite from The Invisible City of Kitezh, approximately 23 minutes into the program.


Join us for a pre-concert chat about the evening’s program with violist Carl Johansen, accompanied by conductor Lidiya Yankovskaya. This event will take place 45 minutes before the performance in the First Tier Room.

Complete a Behind the Music card found at the high-top tables in the lobby and bring it to the gift shop for a discount and to enter a drawing for free tickets.


RIMSKY-KORSAKOV: Suite from The Invisible City of Kitezh
M. JARRELL: Émergences-Résurgences (Utah Symphony co-commission)
WEBER: Andante & Hungarian Rondo
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 2


Lidiya Yankovskaya
Lidiya Yankovskaya conductor
Tabea Zimmermann
Tabea Zimmermann viola
Utah Symphony
Utah Symphony



Season SponsorGeorge S. and Dolores Dore Eccles Foundation
Masterworks Series SponsorO.C Tanner logo