Anne Akiko Meyers Plays “Fandango”

Anne Akiko Meyers Plays “Fandango”
Abravanel Hall
123 W South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA Get Directions


Big and teaming with life, our season finale reaches for peaks. The fandango, a popular Spanish dance style, finds new life in Márquez’s lively violin concerto, which, from its inception, has been tied to one of the world’s most esteemed violinists, Anne Akiko Meyers. Aaron Copland’s final and monumental Symphony No. 3, which he began writing in a Mexican village in the 1930s, incorporates his famous Fanfare for the Common Man—and Jennifer Higdon’s Fanfare Ritmico reflects on the speed at which our lives move.


Join us for a pre-concert chat about the evening’s program with Assistant Conductor Matthew Straw joined by guest artists and symphony musicians, held 45 minutes prior to the performance start time in the First Tier Room.

Complete a Behind the Music card found at the high-top tables in the lobby and bring it to the gift shop for a discount and to enter a drawing for free tickets.


JENNIFER HIGDON: Fanfare Ritmico
COPLAND: Symphony No. 3



Preview music or sign in to your Spotify account to enjoy the entire composition.

Follow us!


ACCESSIBILITY: We are committed to making our performances and venues accessible to all of our patrons.

GENERAL AGE GUIDELINE: Individuals ages five and older are welcome at this performance. Parents should ensure their children are able to sit quietly through the performance without disturbing others around them. No babes in arms will be admitted.

LATE SEATING POLICY: Late seating will be at an appropriate break in the concert, to be determined at a later date, or at intermission. More information on our late and re-entry policies is found here.

Artists and programs are subject to change. No refunds. View Terms of Sale here.



Season SponsorGeorge S. and Dolores Dore Eccles Foundation
Masterworks Series SponsorO.C Tanner logo