Mozart’s Divertimento for Wind Quintet with Milhaud, Arnold & Bartók

This is an event page for a performance that has passed. Please visit our calendar to view upcoming performances.

Mozart’s Divertimento for Wind Quintet with Milhaud, Arnold & Bartók
Digital Content


The creativity of the Utah Symphony winds brings together the chimney of a king, the Romanian countryside, and German parlor music and fits it nicely into an on-demand recital for any occasion. 

The Chimney of King Ren is one of the cornerstones of the woodwind quintet repertoire. Milhaud originally composed this work for a television series and later adapted the music for quintet. The collection of medieval miniatures has everything a day in court could provide – love, jousting, jugglers, and an evening tune.

A collection of five divertimenti, including K.270 comprise the second stage in Mozart’s development as a composer of wind music. Divertimenti are, essentially, parlor music meant to be played at dinner parties, or light occasions.

Originally composed for solo piano, then later transcribed for small ensemble, Bartók’s traditional folk melodies make for an entertaining set of miniatures, which are capped by an exciting gypsy finale.

Estimated concert length: 45 minutes

Click here to access streaming content that has already been purchased.



DARIUS MILHAUD: La Cheminée du Roi René
MALCOLM ARNOLD: Three Sea Shanties
MOZART: Divertimento for Wind Quintet, K. 270
BARTÓK: Romanian Folk Dances


Mercedes Smithflute
James Hall, oboe
Tad Calcara, clarinet
Leon Chodos, bassoon
Edmund Rollett, horn




Season Sponsor USUO: On Demand Sponsor Community Partners Program