Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5
Abravanel Hall
123 W S Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA Get Directions


Mussorgsky’s depiction of a gentle morning sunrise is juxtaposed with the vivacious work that follows—Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3, known for its bursts of spontaneity and crisp expression. Andrew Staupe, praised for his immaculate technique, joins as soloist. Proving Tchaikovsky’s place as one of the Romantic era’s most gifted composers, his Symphony No. 5 takes us on a journey of haunting melodies, shocking climaxes, charming elegance, and joyful abandon.

Announce/Subscriptions On Sale: March 24, 2022
Design-A-Series & Group Tickets On Sale: May 17, 2022
2022-23 Subscriber Presale: June 6, 2022
Single-performance Tickets On-Sale: June 14, 2022

Join us for a pre-concert chat about the evening’s program with Vice President of Artistic Planning Bob Neu, as well as guest artists and musicians from our orchestra, starting 45 minutes before the concert begins.


MUSSORGSKY: Prelude to Khovanshchina
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 3
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 5


Follow us!


ACCESSIBILITY: We are committed to making our performances and venues accessible to all of our patrons.

GENERAL AGE GUIDELINE: Individuals ages five and older are welcome at this performance. Parents should ensure their children are able to sit quietly through the performance without disturbing others around them. No babes in arms will be admitted.

LATE SEATING POLICY: Late seating will be at an appropriate break in the concert, to be determined at a later date, or at intermission. More information on our late and re-entry policies is found here.

Artists and programs are subject to change. No refunds. View Terms of Sale here.




Season SponsorGeorge S. and Dolores Dore Eccles Foundation
Masterworks Series SponsorO.C Tanner logo