Brandenburg Concertos 1 & 2 (in Logan)

This is an event page for a performance that has passed. Please visit our calendar to view upcoming performances.

Brandenburg Concertos 1 & 2 (in Logan)
Chase Fine Arts Center
700 N 1200 E Logan, UT 84322 Get Directions


Thierry Fischer demonstrates that the chronological bookends of symphonic music have much to offer. In a season-long exploration, he introduces the full set of Bach’s celebrated Baroque Brandenburg Concertos, paired with a 20th-century miniature by the French iconoclast, Pierre Boulez. By contrast, the full forces of the Utah Symphony are unleased in Aaron Copland’s majestic Symphony No. 3, written to celebrate the end of World War II. It carries an overall tone of heroism and dignity, culminating in the triumphant theme from Fanfare for the Common Man.


Thierry Fischerconductor
Mercedes Smith, flute
James Halloboe
Claude Halterviolin
Travis Petersontrumpet


J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 1
Boulez: Dérive 1
J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2
Copland: Symphony No. 3