Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1 in Ogden

This is an event page for a performance that has passed. Please visit our calendar to view upcoming performances.

Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1 in Ogden
Val A. Browning Center
1901 University Circle Ogden, Utah Get Directions


Prokofiev’s dreamlike Violin Concerto No. 1 is performed by Concertmaster Madeline Adkins and Dvorák’s In Nature’s Realm brings the beauty of the countryside to the concert hall. The program is bookended by two Strauss tone poems—a powerful exploration of Shakespeare’s tragedy Macbeth and a witty depiction of the mischievous exploits of a German trickster in Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks. (Strauss said of the piece: “I only wanted to give the people in the concert hall a good laugh for once.”)



R. STRAUSS: Macbeth
PROKOFIEV: Violin Concerto No. 1
DVORÁK: In Nature’s Realm
R. STRAUSS: Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks


Jun Märkl
Jun Märkl conductor
Madeline Adkins
Madeline Adkins violin
Utah Symphony
Utah Symphony