A New Year’s Celebration

A New Year’s Celebration
Abravanel Hall
123 W S Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA Get Directions


Ring in the New Year with guest conductor Xian Zhang, whose “incisive gestures elicit vivid performances” (The New York Times), as she leads the orchestra in six dazzling pieces, including well-known melodies from Sleeping Beauty, Joan Tower’s Fanfare, and lively Viennese waltzes. The celebratory music is a clever juxtaposition to Szymanowski’s lush and mysterious Violin Concerto No. 1, performed by concertmaster Madeline Adkins. Let Utah Symphony launch you into 2019 with verve and vitality!

January 4 & 5, 2019 / 7:30 PM / Abravanel Hall | Directions

This performance is currently available to purchase as part of a season ticket package. Individual tickets go on sale June 19, 2018 at 10 AM.

This is part of the Masterworks Series | SUBSCRIBE


  • Xian Zhang, conductor
  • Madeline Adkins, violin


  • Joan Tower: Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 1
  • Tchaikovsky: Suite from Sleeping Beauty
  • Szymanowski: Violin Concerto No. 1
  • J. Strauss Jr.: Overture to The Gypsy Baron
  • J. Strauss Jr.: Bitte schön!
  • R. Strauss: Suite from Der Rosenkavalier


GENERAL AGE GUIDELINE: Individuals ages five and older are welcome at this performance. Parents should ensure their children are able to sit quietly through the performance without disturbing others around them. No babes in arms will be admitted.